One problem that many users of different social networks have experienced is when an account or person they follow on that social network, begins to upload a lot of content for a dayin addition they modify this content and it is no longer the same, in many cases the content begins to be irritable, annoying and even offensive.
You may think that the best way to resolve this is to stop following or delete this user, but the point is that many users do not want to stop following certain accounts, but if they want to hide or that the posts of such accounts are not seen in their beginnings. In the case of Twitter, it offers you the possibility to “mute” users, with this option you can hide the posts of that user and those posts will not appear on your Twitter start.
What should I know before silencing a Twitter user?
The main fact that you should know about this procedure of silencing accounts, is that the accounts that you keep silent will not stop following, just as if the silenced account follows you, the user will not notice or stop following your account. On the other hand, the account that silences, will be able to follow sending you direct messagesthere will be no restrictions on that.
But you will not receive automatic notifications from that account that is muted again. This means that when the account posts a tweet, you will not see or receive any personal notification from your account.
About the silenced account you follow
There are certain aspects to keep in mind about the accounts you follow and you want to silence an account. As a first aspect, you should keep in mind that the tweets of an account that is muted, this refers to the tweets that the account has uploaded after you have activated the silence, they will be completely deleted from your start.
Despite this, when you press or click on a conversation you have with the account that is muted, that user or account replies they will be completely visible. What has a radical change in this is that you will not see any content from the account that is muted at your start.
If you do not follow the muted account
In the event that you silence an account that you do not follow, the posts in that account will be much more hidden than usual. It is understood that when an account is not followed, it is because the user does not want to know or have any information about the account that does not follow and the posts, or in this case, tweets that account writes.
The first thing to keep in mind when silencing an account that you do not follow on Twitter, is that unlike the accounts you follow, in this case the answer and mentions will not appear in the notifications tab, this is due to not follow the account, usually the Twitter platform implies that you do not want to know information about that account.
On the other hand, when you click or press on a conversation with a muted account that you don’t follow, you won’t be able to appreciate the muted account’s replies.
Similarly, if an account that you follow and is not silenced, tweet with comments from the account that you do not follow and is silenced, that tweet will be completely hidden from your start and you will see a message saying “this tweet is not available “.
What are the steps to silence a Twitter user?
To perform the procedure of silencing a Twitter account, you only need to perform a few simple steps. It should be noted that it all depends on the type of device you use to run the process, but in the same way, the process will be very similar.
From my desk
In case you use Twitter, from its web portal, the first step you must proceed is to start a section of your account, once you are there, you will have to look for the note that you want to mute, you can search for it at home or directly using smart search. Enter the profile of the account you want to mute.
Being in that account, at the top of your screen, below the cover photo of the account, three points will appear positioned horizontally, click on those points and you will get a list of options, among those options will be the option of “Mute @lacuentaqueseleccionaste“, the posts or tweets from that account will be immediately deleted from your Twitter account.
Through the application
Now, using the application for mobile phones, the procedure will be similar to the website. The first thing you need to do is open your Twitter app, then search for the account you want to mute, either at startup or by the smart search bar.
Once you are in the account profile, you must click on the three points you will find in the top right corner of your screenthere will be a list of options, among the options in that list, there will be the option to “Silence” press there and immediately will be silenced all new posts or tweets posted by that account.
How to view silenced Twitter accounts?
If you are using a mobile phone application, the first step is to take it click on your profile icon which will appear in the upper right corner, there will display a menu, among them will be the option of “settings and privacy” enter there and then click on the “privacy and security” tab. There you will see the option to “mute and lock”, press there and press on it and then select the option of “muted accounts”.
Using the web, in the main menu, you will have to press on the three points, then press on settings and privacygo to the “privacy and security” section, then click “mute and block” and finally click “silenced accounts”.