Different social networks have messaging sections, and some of them have options that allow them delete or cancel sending messages. Such is the case with Instagram, where each user has different options to remove certain conversations or messages, even without leaving a trace on the follower involved. In this case, it can be verified that the message has been canceled and is not available to all users.
How do you know if your follower also deleted the message you deleted?
Please note that when you enter the option to unsubscribe from a message, Instagram does not keep a record in the conversation that a message has been deleted, but is deleted as if it did not exist. So if you don’t see it in the chat window, let’s say you’ve deleted the message for both you and your follower.
From your computer’s web browser
To access your Instagram account chat window from your computer, you need to sign in to the social network from the web platform or from a program on your computer. Once included in your profile, you need it click on the ‘Messenger’ icon which will redirect you to the messaging tray.
Once logged in, select the conversation you want to evaluate and check that the message is no longer available in the chat. Please note that if you cancel sending the message, it will not be visible in your account or in the other party.
Using your Instagram app on your mobile phone
To evaluate the cancellation of a message in your follower chat, you need to go to the messaging section of your account. In the mobile app, this section is identified by the ‘Messenger’ icon in the upper right corner of the window. There, you will need to select a conversation with the appropriate user.
If you can’t find proof of the message you sent in this section, it means that you have canceled it for both you and your follower. Remember that Instagram does not allow you to delete messages from a single user, only these they are removed immediately and also when one of the participants in both chats is canceled.
What are the ways to delete messages from your Instagram account?
The platform of this social network offers you different options to delete messages from your conversations. Keep in mind that each alternative to deleting an Instagram message depends on a specific function, so you need to evaluate your goals before selecting the option to delete the message.
It has been removed just for you
This option to delete Instagram posts will stop them from being available on your profile in the conversation. Also, keep in mind that you won’t be able to delete certain messages, but you can completely delete the conversation. Since Instagram doesn’t have this type of option that only deletes one message.
- From your computer or PC: You can access the social networking web platform or the program you have previously installed on your computer.
- Once logged in to Instagram, you need to click on the messaging section. The message tray is identified by the Messenger icon at the top of the window.
- Enter the dialog you want to delete by clicking on the left pane.
- You need to select the ‘Information’ icon at the top of the conversation.
- Click the ‘Delete Chat’ box among the options that appear on the screen. This way the conversation will be removed from your inbox on Instagram.
- From the mobile app:
- Once you’ve logged in to your account, you’ll need to sign in to your message tray. To do this, click on the ‘Messenger’ icon in the top corner of the window.
- Find the exact conversation you want to delete and press and hold for a couple of seconds. Until the available options are displayed.
- Select the ‘Delete chat’ checkbox and this will delete your Instagram profile conversation.
Cancel for your follower as well
The Instagram message cancellation option allows you to delete messages in a certain way by selecting each message you want to delete individually. As well as the message they will no longer be available to those who participated in the interview, leaving no trace of it. You can cancel messages that you have sent, regardless of the time that the other user has seen or sent them.
- From your computer or PC: You can run the option to unsubscribe from Instagram messages using the social networking web platform or computer program.
- Go to the messaging section by clicking on the ‘Messenger’ icon at the top of the window.
- You need to enter a conversation that you want to delete for both profiles.
- Hover over the message you want to delete, and click the three-dot icon next to it.
- Select the ‘Cancel submission’ option and tap the ‘Cancel submission’ option again in the confirmation window. This will remove the message from your follower.
- From the mobile app:
- Once you’ve entered your profile, you’ll need to access your message inbox. To do this, click on the ‘Messenger’ icon in the corner of the window.
- Now you need to delete the message that you want to delete for the participants.
- Press and hold the exact message until some options are displayed on the screen.
- Select the option identified as ‘Cancel submission’ and confirm this action in the pop-up window. This will delete your chat message and that of your follower, regardless of whether they have already read it or not.